Forgiveness…..It does the heart Good!

birds

Have you ever made a mistake? Have you ever did something and didn’t think about the consequences? Have you ever done something, and at the time, really didn’t think that you were doing anything wrong, but to someone else it was the end of the world? Have you ever been blamed for something and really it was just a misunderstanding? If you have, then don’t worry, you are human. We all have had one of these moments happen at some point in our life. That is what makes us HUMAN.  I can honestly say I have never “Walked on water”, “Turned water to Wine”, “made a blind man see”, or “calmed a stormy sea”. Since I have not done any of these spectacular events, I can confidently say, I will no doubt make mistakes in my life.

mistakes

I will be the first to say that I am not perfect. I have made mistakes in my life, but some of my mistakes were also misunderstandings. Through all those mistakes, there have been a few people who have never forgiven me, and may never will. I have also had those wonderful people that don’t look at my mistakes and have had a forgiving heart.

I am not perfect. I can say that, and be completely alright with it. I know that I am a work in progress. I also am a person that forgives easy. I don’t hold grudges. If I know that I make mistakes, how can I treat everyone around me different from how I want to be treated? How can I go around and hold a grudge against someone when I hate it with a passion, that I have a grudge held against me?  I know that I will have to live my ENTIRE life and know the possibility that my past will be brought up, but the Lord tells us to forgive and forget.  That is hard for humans to do.  People can change, but sometimes they are not given that chance to change.

Holding a grudge and hating someone is hard for me to do. Why do I want to waste my energy at staying angry?  I would rather forgive you instead of condemn you for what you have done.  I know I have hurt people I love with some things I have done in the past. I guess sometimes after the same thing happens over and over, it gets harder for a person to deal with emotionally.  Once a trust has been broken it is really hard for the human self to get over that hurdle to trust again.  I understand that. What I don’t understand is …. Why say that you want to move on and then bring up every little thing that has ever happened all over again, time and time again.

grudge

I was talking to my daughter the other day.  She is going through a little rough spot.  Last night I told her that you have to understand how the other person feels.  You feel horrible because it happened to you, but I can guarantee that he feels much worse.  He feels anger, embarrassment, regret, shame.  He feels lower than dirt.  He feels that his heart is ripping out of his chest.  He feels like he is wandering in some dark and desolate valley and he is probably alright with it, because he feels that he deserves to be in a such a horrible place for what he had done.

I do realize that there comes a time in your life that you can no longer be in a toxic situation.  There are people who you can forgive for what they done, and even forget it ever happened but, you need to move on to other things in your life.  Only you can decide what you can live with and what makes you move on.  The most important lesson to learn is to find happiness and forgiveness.  Don’t fill your heart with hatred for another human being.  Try to forgive and grant those people that hurt you a second chance or a third chance…..or maybe even a fourth.  The Bible tells us to forgive 70 times 7.  I don’t think that He means after a 490 times we can no longer forgive.  I believe he is telling us that we don’t keep tally marks, we just forgive them.

70x7

So if you have someone in your life that you have not forgiven and you have not buried that hatchet all the way, but that handle is still sticking out to grab at any moment, make a change today. Change the way your heart feels toward them, but don’t just forgive them, also forget what they have done and never bring it up.  You will feel so much better.  Forgiveness…..It does the heart good.

Leave a Reply

