IT TAKES ALL KINDS TO MAKE A WORLD

31cef2201dbdc1b09310fc36ef610f87

When I was little, my Grandma Burdette use to quote to me and my sister this one simple line, “It takes all kinds to make a world” all the time.  I remember rolling my eyes and thinking “whatever”, because most of the time she was getting on to us.  As a child, I really didn’t understand or appreciate those eight words.  Those eight words have such a vast meaning, and I never realized how powerful they really were until I was an adult.

I recently had “falling out” with one of my family members.  We had not spoken for several months.  We both have a bit of a temper and when we get mad, we get mad all over.  Sometimes I have a problem with saying something before I have a chance to even think of the consequences.  It is like stopping the water flowing over Niagara Falls, it is a complete impossibility to stop.  I have learned over the years to control the flow of wordage that wants to escape its dam, but there are times that the dam breaks and carnage strikes innocent bystanders.

Since I have gotten older it has become easier to think before I act, and I also have learned to appreciate that old phrase my grandma instilled into my being.  It does take all kinds to make a world.  If we were all the same, it would be a completely mundane, characterless world.  We all think different, dress different, speak different, act different, and we are all raised different.  Together, the world is one giant puzzle, and each piece is different from the other, but without that one piece, we are not complete.

Concept of Globalization. Earth puzzle. 3d

We have to learn to get a long and appreciate each others differences.  I believe we have forgotten that we are a world that require each others uniqueness.  I attempted to make amends to that one family member. I asked for her forgiveness and to start fresh.  Life is way to short to have a feud with someone who is your own flesh and blood.  Likewise, life is too short to worry about the fact that someone is not like you, therefore you should have nothing to do with that individual.  We should show love to one another.  Me and my cousin are alike in a lot of ways but we are also different in others.  We have been raised differently and think differently and at times you can say we are poles apart, but there is one thing that holds true and is undeniable, the same blood runs through our veins.  She messaged me this morning and asked for a fresh start, and of course I was relieved when she felt the same.  We didn’t grow up together and our parents were not always close either.  It seemed we lived a world apart but as we grow older the cousins on my dad’s side have created a bond and have began to reach out to one another.  We are all different but we desire the connection with one another.

love-quote_4021-1

I know it is hard to connect with some people, family or not, because they are so different from you.  I know for me, uniformity is comfortable.   It is natural for individuals to flock to each other because they have similar interests, but in reality, uniqueness is what we should strive to embrace.  Family is always important but friendship is just as important.  Accept those who are different from you.  The Bible quotes several scriptures about loving your neighbor as your self. It also states not only are you suppose to love your neighbor and your friends, but also love your enemy.  Love your enemy……think about that for a moment.  That is probably the last person on EARTH that you want to love, but God is asking you to do that.  God says that if you just love those who love you, what good is that?  If you are friendly only to your friends, how different are you from anyone else?  God has given us faith, hope and love, but God says the greatest of these is love.

2411d48923195b5f26b817e1032cd58c

It takes all kinds to make a world, which means it is important to love all kinds of people who are in this world.  I don’t care who you are and how different you are from me, I will always address you with love and kindness. There have been many people in my life who have been cruel to me.  People are not the kindest creatures living on this earth.  Some animals have a more nurturing spirit in their little body than some humans have in their pinky toe.  There are some individuals that I think I could NEVER show love to, but God expects it; he commands it.  It takes all kinds to make a world, because God created this world and everything in it, and He created everyone different.  He loves us all, and He expects us to do the same.  Don’t spend one more day hating someone; family, friends, or even your enemy.  Life is too short to have hate reside in your soul.  I would much rather have the sweet, refreshing feeling of love in my heart instead of the foul, revolting, rotting stench of HATE.

Take time out of your day to make amends to those relationships that have gone sour.  Go out of your way to make new friends to someone who you never thought you would because of your differences.  You never know, that individual may become a life long companion, and someone you would lay down your life for.  Just remember, it really does take all kinds to make a world, it is what makes this world so remarkable.

matthew-5-43-44-400x400

Leave a Reply

