THANKS – LIVING JAR

be-thankful-9

I know at times, we begin to think that nothing is going right in our life, and nothing good is ever going to happen.  I have moments like this more often than I would like to admit.  I was reading my devotion today and I began to think hard about everything I can be thankful for.  I have discovered that there is always something to be thankful for.  I mean if nothing else, I am breathing this very moment.  I am sitting here in a warm building and nice clothes to wear and shoes on my feet.  I was able to take a hot shower today and I have had breakfast and lunch.  I was able to drive to work in my own vehicle that is actually pretty nice.  Those are just a few things I am thankful for that I thought of at the top of my head.

My daily devotion this morning was read out of Psalms 23rd. “The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.  2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.  3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.  4Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.  5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.  6  Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.  After I read these scriptures out of the Bible, I read the devotional that mentioned a Thanks – Living Jar.  Everyday you are supposed to write on a small piece of paper something that you are thankful for.  It can include anything and everything, because remember, there is always something to be thankful for.  At the end of the year you take all the pieces of paper out of the jar and you read them all, and recall all the wonderful things that you have been thankful for all year. 

We all need a little more positivity in our life.  We look around and all we see are the horrible events that happen around us. There is so much negativity and hatred all around us.  Every day someone is cutting their neighbor down.  No one ever up lifts someone. I don’t understand why when something bad happens to someone, it spreads like wild fire.  But when someone does something great, it is hardly recognized.  People take joy in seeing someone else fail.  I hope someday that will all change.  Only we, as individuals can make that difference. We have to change our selves.

I am really bad about allowing negative thoughts take up residence in my head.  Well today I am issuing an eviction notice.  Those negative thoughts will need to find a house elsewhere, because I am only housing positive thoughts from now on.  So starting today, I will be writing down one thing that I have been thankful for and placing them in a jar, to await the end of the year where I can read all those pieces of paper, and relive every thankful thought.   I believe we can change how we see things.  We have the ability to see things in a positive light, and vise versa, we have the ability to make everything negative as well.  Nobody can make us be in a bad mood, we choose it.  I was told that once and I didn’t believe them.  I said “NO, they made me mad and put me in a bad mood”.   In reality, I allowed that individual to get to me and I allowed them to alter my mood.  It may be difficult sometimes to always be positive with all the negative things going on in all of our lives.  I just feel that we will live healthier,  happier and more productive life if we do our best to only focus on the positive.

I know I keep saying that 2017 will be different, and I have high expectations that this will be a happier year; but that is because I believe it with my whole heart.  I may experience the same hardships and struggles that I had in 2016, but this year, I choose to perceive it differently.  So I challenge you to make your own Thanks – Living Jar, take life by the horns and change the way you think.  Change the negatives to a positive and with every thankful thought we are slowly changing the world around us, one piece of paper at a time.

01-770x425be-greatful

2 thoughts on “THANKS – LIVING JAR

    1. Thank you. I appreciate. I hope more people take it to heart and apply it. We need so much more positive thinking in our world. And learn to be thankful for even the little things.

      Like

Leave a Reply

